Saturday, January 31, 2009

Hiding money in the walls...


More like stashing it in piles!

Friday, January 30, 2009

Gowanus Recession Graffiti

DP from Adourne suggested that I might chronicle the evolution of the construction graffiti that adorned the top of the MTA power station over the Gowanus.


And after the Wall Street Collapse, from Curbed





Aren't we all?


Who are we going to blame?

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Daily Recession Graffiti


East Village Idiot has chronicled how Ray's Candy Store is really trying to cash in on the synergy between the recession special as well as the hope of our new prez.

Slaughter graffiti


New York Shitty has a reader who bought a luxe condo right next to a zoned slaughterhouse and isn't the only one who decided to comment on the smell. Bad smell inspires graffiti- that's why all our toilet shanties are all bombed up.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Daily Recession Graffiti


EV Grieve says that "Most Shit" is on sale on 6th ave in the 20's. I think the daily recession graffiti is a fun concept- please send in your examples of recession graffiti because the construction industry isn't the only one affected by this blight.

Who doesn't?!


No better way to take the burn out of recession than by hitting up your local titty bar! Talk about an economic stimulus package!

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Recession Graffiti


Brownstoner ran a picture of some uplifting graffiti. While it's not construction graffiti, our industry is certainly taking a beating during this recession.

Ran out of ink? **Reader Contribution**


Apparently, Gertrude Stein likes the pen. Looks as though we've a copycatter from Summer Heights High as well with the 8===Dtation tag up there too. (Photo location: Providence, RI Photo Credit: JN)

Monday, January 26, 2009

Subway Graffiti


Gothamist had an interesting piece of graffiti from the subway- I know it's not construction graffiti, but an interesting adaptation of an existing sign.

Barely worth the money...


..you get paid to chronicle your toilet time, but I will give you credit for adding a horrifically graphic new word to my lexicon. Scunt. Pure filth.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Construction Van Gogh


It's not quite Starry Night, but there is a star in there.

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Everyone's a critic.


There is more than a specter of truth to this cynicism though!

Friday, January 23, 2009

When you have too much canvas...


..it doesn't inspire creativity, especially when it's out in the open! The real gems are on the inside of the toilet shanty.

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Construction Cliché


Yeah, yeah. We all were thinking that. You just wrote it.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Chinese Wisdom


Confucius say, regarding that smell, I think someone smoking pot in toilet shanty.

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Inauguration Day


And I bet you could find a photoshopped picture if your tried hard enough.

EV Penistrator


EV Grieve has seen an outbreak of penises in the East Village. There's a lot of construction going on in the neighbourhood- maybe the penis culprit drives nails while he's not drawing cocks everywhere.

Monday, January 19, 2009

Union Yes!


Take a piss on that rat scab!

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Laborers Union Graffiti


"Yeah, I caught a scab spreading green dust the other day and I smashed him!"

Friday, January 16, 2009

Canvas Closed.


RIP plop plop room. RIP fizz fizz room.

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

For sale...


An entire house made of firewood. (Photo credit: JG)

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

They're still working...


Despite the fact that they probably aren't being paid.

Monday, January 12, 2009

Who's funding it?


Helaba or J-Prez? (Photo Location: 177 9th Ave, Chelsea Enclave)

Sunday, January 11, 2009

Who dunnit?


"Located above stairwell landing at the New Museum about 10 ft. from floor. Has been there for about 2 years and no one has touched it." (Photo Location: The New Museum of Contemporary Art, Photo Credit: AG)

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Obviously conflicted.


About the local 40 ironworkers union.

Friday, January 9, 2009

An elephant never forgets...


Who drew his ass on the electrican's gangbox.

Thursday, January 8, 2009

I always feel like...



Somebody's watchinnn meeeeee!

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

I before E except after...


C! Looks like we're even doing peer edits on the jobsite.

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Monday, January 5, 2009

Sunday, January 4, 2009

Ironically motivational.


Rather than propaganda speaking of the heroic working class, someone just dropped the CL- and say "get busy ASS..!"

Saturday, January 3, 2009

Reader Contribution! Happy New Year!


According to AN, this photo was taken in Yerevan, Armenia in an old steel fabrication factory on the outskirts of the city, and the writing on the bridge cranse says "Hail to the glorious working class!" It's not construction graffiti, but just as motivational as some of the graffiti that we see on the sites!